power to the…

people

WOMEN.

Today marks the halfway point of my half marathon training, and let me just say that my body is t-i-r-e-d, TIRED. But, in a moment of sheer brilliance and complete thoughtless stamina, my parter in crime Kelly and I made it to the 8 mile mark. Mind you, running was a completely foreign concept to me approximately 5.5 weeks ago. Now, I feel strong, empowered, and quite literally invincible. I do owe a large handful of the credit to music, and its ability to keep my mind at ease while my body is facing the biggest challenge I’ve ever thrown at it… which is why I am dedicating this playlist to all of my favorite female vocalists.

equally strong, equally courageous, and vulnerable, these women and the emotions that sneak through their cleverly crafted lyrics serve as my inspiration — running or not.

enjoy!

1. Sun Of A Gun – Oh Land

2. I Follow Rivers – Lykke Li

3. I’m A Lady – Santogold

4. Pitterpat – Erin McCarley

5. Silver Lining – Rilo Kiley

6.To Be With You – The Honey Trees

7. Somersault – Zero 7

8. Paris (Ooh La La) – Grace Potter & The Nocturnals

9. Cat and Mouse – Nikki & Rich

10. Rumour has it – Adele

11. Bag Lady – Erykah Badu

12. Honey Honey – Feist

13. Where I Stood – Missy Higgins

14. Humanised – Sola Rosa Ft. Bajka

15. The Parting Glass – The Wailin’ Jennys

16. Rolling In The Deep – Adele

17. Gold Dust (Flux Pavilion Remix) – DJ Fresh

image courtesy of Digital Past

Leave a Reply

