I recently had a conversation with one of my girlfriends that went a lot like this:

“I can never go shoe shopping alone because I’m not sure if the ones I like are cool…. or weird!”

 … at the time I couldn’t commit to being able to share her sentiments, but after seeing this artwork by Justin Bryan Nelson, I lost all faith in my ability to separate uncomfortably strange from inspiring art. So, I’ll leave it up to you to decide, you lovely little art fiends, you. Was I right in my initial double take of these unique and outlandish illustrations, or does this qualify as one of those ‘shoe-shopping’ moments, where my cool-dar seriously misses the mark and lands amid strange braided portraits that you felt better off not seeing?

Hmm, I think the only thing saving these for me are those pale blue water color stripes. Again with the water color – see, I told you I’m entirely far too invested in it. Hopefully this weekend grounds me back in my comfortable and confident art-loving ways. Here’s to a marvelous May weekend!

Leave a Reply

