mmm. mmmusic mmmix.

Isn’t it funny that the words we use so often, are the ones that are hardest to define? Like power, for example. How would you define power? Is it noticeable force, or the ease of persuasion? Is it strength, or is it the ability to rule through the instillation of fear?

Power… a word we are all so familiar with, can have as many shades of grey as a portrait sketched in pencil. I for one fail to tie it down to one meaning, but succeed whole heartedly in equating it to something else. Power = Music. Music = Power.

For those of you who know me, you are well aware of the fact that everything I say sounds sung, how playing the piano for fifteen years has given my fingers the ability to stretch to shocking widths, and that there is no damper in the world that can’t simply be mitigated by some solitary confinement with my extensive iTunes library. Music erases all boundaries. Music counteracts gravity. Music dissolves hatred. Music numbs all pain. Music is familiarity. Music is Home.

So even though I have not been “home” for an entire month now, tonight I spent hours in a local coffee shop and in the comfort of Gloria’s overly heated home discovering new music, and reinventing the old. Download this mmmusic mmmix here and sit in on the tunes that are swimming through my argentine airwaves. I hope this playlist finds you whole, and happy — but if it doesn’t, I hope it leaves you so. bass-note-besos.

1. Asobi Seksu – Thursday

2. El Perro del Mar – Change of Heart

3.Slakah the Beatchild – Enjoy ya self

4. Blonde Readhead – 23

5. Seabear – I sing I swim

6. The Silent Years – On our way home

7. Mumford and Sons – The Banjolin Song

8. Sin Fang Bous – Clangour and floutes

9. Tosca – suzuki

10. Jesse Boykins III – B4 the Night is Thru

11. Beach House – Zebra

12. Fitz and the Tantrums – Winds of Change

13. Slakah the Beatchild – What’s this feeling

14. Jose Gonzalez – Lovestain

Leave a Reply

