…30

The average number of alfajores (per month) that made their way into my digestive tract and subsequently onto my thighs between the months of September and December….

The average age of the fleet of men clad in business casual who stood at a welcomed but obnoxiously close distance during rush hour on the subte….

The average number of times a day I spent considering selling all my belongings and some of my non vital organs to support my addiction to Argentina….

The number of times Gloria called me a chancha for spilling (otra vez, Nicole?!) on her tablecloth….

The number of days I’ve been away from the place that challenged me, cultivated my spirit, and fostered my sense of adventure and creativity….

…30.

It’s been a month, 30 days, that these size nine feet of mine have been planted on US soil, and truth be told, not a day has gone by where they don’t ache to be skipping down those Buenos Aires sidewalks, dodging dog-poop bombs and cracked pavement once again. For the one-month anniversary of my departure, I’m going to take you del otro lado de la nocheand share one of my favorite poems by Francisco X. Alarcón. This  bilingual book of poems is currently my nightstand companion, and since I value both the status of your bed-side table and your poetic mind, I implore you to at least entertain the idea of upping the stanzas and muting the static in your life.

I. Orden en la casa                                                                                     I. Order in the home

me reclamas                                                                                                    you complain

porque dejo                                                                                                     because I leave

toallas húmedas                                                                                             damp towels

sobre la cama                                                                                                  on the bed

 

todas las cosas                                                                                               all things

tienen su lugar                                                                                                have their place

me aleccionas                                                                                                 you lecture me

recogiendo                                                                                                      gathering

 

los libros                                                                                                          the pile

amontonados                                                                                                  of books

en la mesa                                                                                                        off the kitchen

de la cocina                                                                                                      table

 

yo me apresuro                                                                                               I hurry

y cubro                                                                                                             and cover

con mi cuerpo                                                                                                 with my body

los calzones                                                                                                    the underwear

 

que relucen                                                                                                     that gleams

como sonrisa                                                                                                  like a smile

sobre el sofá                                                                                                   on the red

rojo de la sala                                                                                                 living room sofa

Leave a Reply

